Up and away

06 Mar 2014

Up and away

Friends, family and a great wedding planner helped lighten the load at Jason and Rebecca’s wedding

Jason Godefroy and Rebecca Mills

Where: Ceremony and reception at One Marylebone, London

Photography: Julia Boggio Studios

Both Jason and I live and work in London, therefore it made sense for us to get married here. As soon as we walked into One Marylebone, we knew this venue was the one for us. It has so much character. We had candles throughout and this made such a huge impact on the overall ambience of the day.

I love to be organised and really enjoyed the whole planning aspect of the wedding, but I didn’t want to be worried about ensuring everything ran smoothly on the day. We took the decision to hire Jenny Marks, a fabulous wedding planner. I couldn’t recommend her highly enough. As well as Jenny, my bridesmaids were also amazing. Each had their own role, ranging from ensuring all guests wrote in the guest book to carrying my make-up. Having everyone do the worrying for me made me so much more relaxed... so relaxed in fact that I left my bouquet in the hotel and only realised once I got to the venue and had to go back for it.

All of the wedding stationery was designed by my sister-in-law, Katie Godefroy, who created the most amazing laser cut invitations, plus all the other stationery. I wanted an overall contemporary feel to the day – my favourite colours are grey and pink which became our theme for the day.

While everyone was waiting for me, we hired Jharda Walker to play ‘chart music’ on the harp, which was fantastic. My biggest fear was that I would be walking down the aisle crying; fortunately I managed to keep control and only had a few tears in my eyes as I reached the end of the aisle, at which my point my bridesmaid, Debbie Barnes, passed me a tissue.

We gave a lot of thought to our ceremony and wanted to give it a personal feel. We decided to sing It Must Be Love by Madness and Jharda, made sure that everyone sang along to it.

Throughout the day, the food and drinks were never ending. As well as a dessert table, we had midnight snacks which included my husband’s favourite meal – chicken kebabs.

The day was everything we wished it could be and more. It went far too quickly, but fortunately our photographer, Julia Boggio captured so many pictures that we will cherish for the rest of our lives.

WHO DID WHAT

Photography: Julia Boggio Studios, Wimbledon, 020 7042 9777, www.boggiostudios.com

Venue: One Marylebone, London, 020 7380 1663, www.onemarylebone.com

Wedding Planner: Jenny Marks, Complete Bliss, Thames Ditton, Surrey, 0208 398 8720, www.completebliss.net

Dress: JS Couture, London, 020 7935 4242, www.jscouture.com

Bridesmaids’ dresses: Coast, www.coast-stores.com

Make-up: Sophie Higginson, 07931 179581, www.sophiehigginson.co.uk

Groom’s outfit: Paul Smith, www.paulsmith.co.uk

Stationery: Katie Godefroy (sister-in-law)

Flowers: Creative Works (UK) Ltd, Kingswood, Surrey, 07976 449681, www.ckworks.net

Cakes: The Hummingbird Bakery, www.hummingbirdbakery.com; cheese cake: Teddington

Cheese, www.teddingtoncheese.co.uk

Catering: Create Food, London, 020 8944 4900, www.createfood.co.uk

Furniture: Velvet Living, London, 020 8947 8245, velvetliving.co.uk

Entertainment: Harpist, Jharda Walker, 07891 676 294, www.thesingingharpist.com; DJ, Freight Train, www.sternbergclarke.co.uk/acts/freight-train; band, E2, www.e2music.com; photo booth, Say Fromage, 020 7237 1648, www.sayfromage.co.uk

Lighting: Wise Productions, White City, London, 020 8743 1122, www.wiseproductions.co.uk

Videographer: Reel Love Films, 07595 936313, www.reellovefilms.co.uk

Favours: Artisan Chocolates, www.artisanduchocolat.com

supplier finder

Get a quote

Looking for that perfect local supplier?
Let us know what you need and we’ll start looking for you.

supplier finder

Find a supplier

Search over 200,000 Suppliers in the UK.

or

bride

Everything for your wedding

A whimsical garden themed wedding in Panama

Alexandra and Alex Weber tied the knot in front of 35 guests with a wonderful garden...

Elbeth Gillis releases new dresses for 2021

The bridal designer has introduced new additions to their 2021 'Grace' collection &nbs...

The perfect false eyelashes for your eye shape

Find the best lashes for your eye shape ready for your wedding day ...

Your wedding questions answered

Experts answer your most asked questions regarding weddings in 2021 ...

A nature themed vow renewal in Portugal

Roselyn Silva and Blackson Afonso celebrated their anniversary with a vow renewal in Lisb...

Looking for that perfect local supplier?
Let us know what you need and we’ll start looking for you.

the wedding show