Tags: Yorkshire

A vintage day: The wedding of Rob and Emma Worthington

23 Jan 2013

A vintage day: The wedding of Rob and Emma Worthington

The wedding of Rob and Emma Worthington at St John’s Church in Rishworth followed by a marquee reception at home

Photography: Lesley Meredith

Image gallery

Image gallery

I thought I would be a nervous wreck on our wedding day, but I felt fine! I was so frantic three days prior to the day that I was ready and just wanted to enjoy it. We both couldn’t believe the day had finally arrived for us to get married.

The ceremony was at St John’s Church as we love it. You can see it from our garden and we always knew we would have our reception at home in the garden.

I don’t like garish colours for weddings. I wanted ivories and oyster shades that are soft, feminine, elegant and timeless. There was a hint of the 1930s to our day, without it being a full-on theme. The boxed invites had lovely brooches on them, the bridesmaid dresses had a 1930s feel and we hired champagne saucers to fit in with the style of the day.

I wore a Monique Lhuillier gown. I have admired her designs for years and didn’t even consider another designer. The dress I chose wasn’t the one I thought I would from pictures I had seen. It just proves that the idea you have in your head can be very different when it comes to trying them on. I fell in love with my dress instantly!

We focused on one another during the ceremony. I didn’t take my eyes off Rob when we said our vows. It was like nobody else was there. It was the most intense moment of our lives.

We couldn’t wait to join our guests and celebrate after our photos had been taken. We hadn’t seen the marquee fully dressed and I gasped when we went in. Rob couldn’t believe the flowers and how beautiful it looked.

The food was amazing. I was absolutely blown away and loved watching the whole room, seeing everyone having fun and enjoying the day with us.

My sister gave me away and her speech was just lovely. Rob’s speech surpassed all my expectations. He nailed all the formalities but was humorous, kind and loving to both me, and his family. I could not have been more proud of him. I still can’t believe he is my husband.

 

THE DETAILS

Photography: Lesley Meredith, 01270 829191, lesleymeredith.co.uk

Marquee: Mahood Marquees, 01744 884158, mahoodmarquees.com

Dress: Monique Lhuillier, moniquelhuillier.com

Mother-of-the-bride: Rag Doll, Pudsey, 01274 660880, ragdollofpudsey.co.uk

Hair: Hayley Jennings, House of Creation, Ripponden, 01422 822795

Make-up: Claire at Harryjon, 07816 498909, harryjon.com

Stationery: Vintage Bespoke, 07786 115422, vintagebespoke.co.uk

Venue dresser: Red Floral Architecture, 07739 709400, redfloral.co.uk

Cake: Diva Cakes, 01457 831460, divacakes.co.uk

Catering: Dine Services, Leeds, 0845 450 4545, dine-services.com

Flowers: Red Floral Architecture, 07739 709400, redfloral.co.uk

Transport: Ebor Carriages, 01439 771387, eborcarriages.co.uk

Videographer: Reel Vision, 01925 758776, reel-vision.co.uk

Lighting: Lightech, 01260 223666, lightech.co.uk

Event management/security: Hire Class Events, 0800 627 7833, hireclassevents.co.uk

Entertainment: Jim Whitley and The Rat Pack from jimwhitley.com

 

To see more of Rob and Emma’s wedding photographs see our online gallery or the 2013 issue of Yorkshire BRIDE

supplier finder

Get a quote

Looking for that perfect local supplier?
Let us know what you need and we’ll start looking for you.

supplier finder

Find a supplier

Search over 200,000 Suppliers in the UK.

or

bride

Everything for your wedding

Macmillan Cancer Support launches 2021 range of wedding favours

Offering wedding favours with meaning, this charitable collection raises money for a...

Introducing Vera Wang Bride: For the fearless, with a sense of self

Featuring free-falling skirts, visible corsetry and micro-pleating, Vera Wang's brid...

Elbeth Gillis launches Curve bridal collection

Designed to accentuate a bride's curves on her wedding day, the Curve collection fro...

An autumnal boho wedding shoot at Wellington Wood, Norfolk

Wedding suppliers from Norfolk, Suffolk and Cambridgeshire united for this bohemian ...

Wedding Photo of the Week: MIKI Studios

Each week we’re inviting all wedding photographers to submit their images to be Bri...

Looking for that perfect local supplier?
Let us know what you need and we’ll start looking for you.